Delete / Deactivate Facebook Account – Complete Guide

Would you like to quit Facebook altogether? Or would you prefer to take a little time out from Facebook? I can show you how to accomplish those. It’s  quite simple. All you have to do is either delete or deactivate your Facebook account respectively. Don’t panic, I’ve got you covered on the how to get either of these done.

Delete/Deactivate account on Facebook

Now, to take some time out, you don’t necessarily have to permanently delete your account but you could deactivate it temporarily. Make no mistake; you’ll be able to reactivate it when you feel up to it to get back online. This writ is aimed at showing you how to delete or deactivate your Facebook account among other things.

It is common mistake to confuse deleting with deactivating a Facebook account, but the two are different in more ways than one. The most obvious difference is that the former gets you offline temporarily while the later gets you offline permanently.

Why Consider Deleting Or Deactivating Your Facebook Account?

The choice to delete or deactivate your Facebook account may stem from different reasons. Here are a few reasons I consider to prompt the thought of deletion or deactivation:

  • Hacked account
  • Privacy issues
  • Fear off addiction
  • When Facebook becomes boring
  • When the drama becomes overwhelming

Deleting And Deactivating Your Facebook Account: The Differences

Deletion

If you want to rid your Facebook account forever for good, this is the option you should go for. By deleting your account, you lose your data totally. However, you can download your data off your Facebook account before initiating the deletion process. How to reactivate your account is presented at the bottom of this page.

Deactivation

Whatever reasons you may have to want to get offline from Facebook, deactivation is the obvious choice if there’s a slightest chance you might want to re-use that account sometime in the future. Deactivating your Facebook account simply hides your information so that your friends and everyone else will have no access to your page. This way, Facebook holds on to your data until you reactivate your account.

Backing Up Your Data Before Deletion

Before deleting your account, it may be worth downloading your information from Facebook. To do this, follow these steps:

  • Click the drop down arrow at the top right corner of any Facebook page in your web browser
  • Click “Download a copy of your Facebook data” at the bottom of your General Account Settings
  • Choose “Start My Archive”

The file that begins downloading will contain your Facebook profile information, so be very careful about where you keep it.

How To Delete A Facebook Account

  • Visit the Facebook deletion page via https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account
  • Click “Delete My Account”
  • Enter your login details in the pop window
  • Enter the displayed Captcha code in the box provided
  • Click “OK”
  • A pop up window will appear informing you it will take 14 days to completely delete your account. Click OK at the bottom right corner of the window.

How To Deactivate A Facebook Account

To deactivate your account, here are steps to follow:

  • Login to your account and click the menu bar which appears on the top right corner of every page.
  • Select “Settings”
  • Scroll down and click “Deactivate your account”
  • At this point, you’ll be asked if you’re sure you want to deactivate your account. Then you’ll be asked to select a reason for wanting to deactivate your account. Possible reasons will be presented to you to choose from.
  • Choose your reason.
  • Afterwards, you’ll be asked if you want to opt out of receiving emails from Facebook. “Confirm” and “Cancel” options are present here.
  • Select the option which suits your needs
  • Go ahead and click “Confirm” finally to deactivate your account.
  • Remember, your account hasn’t been deleted. You can always reactivate it whenever you want to.

How to Reactivate Your Facebook account

Reactivating your account harbors no complexities. All you have to do is supply your usual login details and login to Facebook. Your data is restored once your login is successful.

Facebook Comments

Add a Comment